It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2008, 03:21 PM   #1
(female)

sdsuncat HB User
I'm new to all this...........

My husband, aged 69, started having significant memory issues several months ago. Finally got him to his Dr. and he's been going thru all kinds of tests - neurologist said there had been a decline in memory and speech over the last 2 months - we're waiting for MRI to be scheduled. There's no diagnosis yet, but clearly it's some form of dementia - possibly a series of small strokes? Anyway - I'm going a little crazy myself and am worried about the danger issues. Just the other night he went out for ice cream and when I opened the living room door in the a.m. I found his keys in the lock. It's pretty clear he won't be able to work anymore which leaves not only the emotional and custodial duties to me but the financial as well. We're living on 2 social securities and his unemployment which will run out in the spring of 09. I also work a couple of part time jobs. I've been on Celexa for about 6 months which has helped a bit, but sometimes the stress is so overwhelming I just don't know where to turn or what to do next. Has anyone else had these feelings (am NOT suicidal) and if so, how have you counterracted them? I would so appreciate some input. Thanks. SDSUNCAT

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-31-2008, 03:56 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Gabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB User
Re: I'm new to all this...........