It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2009, 03:12 AM   #1
(female)

ShirleyandMusic HB User
Music and Alzheimer's

Hello

I am really interested in the benefits of music in the early stages of Alzheimers and the benefits in all stages.

I am currently studying the 2nd year of a Community Music course at Goldsmiths College and I am working on an assigment about this subject now.

I would really appreciate if anyone would share with me their personal experiences if they found music helped them or someone close to them who has Alzheimers.

I have heard a story about an elderly man who had not spoke a word for years and one day some community musicians came to the home he lived at, the elderly man picked up their violin and began to play all these songs that he knew, not in tune but the melodies were clear. It's incredible that he was not speaking but all this wonderful music was still there for him that he use to play when younger. Can you imagine how that made him feel at that moment? It was this story that got me into exploring music and Alzheimers.

I would really love to hear any stories you have or have heard.

Look forward to your replies.

Kind regards
Shirley

The following user gives a hug of support to ShirleyandMusic:
luyingjie (01-24-2012)
The Following User Says Thank You to ShirleyandMusic For This Useful Post:
luyingjie (01-24-2012)
Old 01-05-2009, 04:06 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Martha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB User
Re: Music and Alzheimer's