It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2009, 06:13 AM   #1
(female)

groovichik HB User
Unhappy vascular dementia

hi everyone im new to this but need some support... my mum of 66 had\a stroke on 13th sept 08... she is now left with vasculr dementia. she has been passed from pillar to post and is on a mental health ward basically they not sure whats happening with her next. my dad is not coping to well. we do have support as i have 3 other sisters... but this has completly destroyed our lives... my mum was so fun loving and had a good social life...i just cant seem to cope lately and finding the stress coming between me and my boyfriend.... mum is at a stage where she is doing n0 2s in her pants... but she still talks and a brilliant memory... has anyone else experienced this and how did they cope.... i miss mum so so much

Old 01-12-2009, 07:41 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

caringsister54 HB Usercaringsister54 HB Usercaringsister54 HB Usercaringsister54 HB Usercaringsister54 HB User
Re: vascular dementia

Hello and sorry that you had to come to this area but know that we are all here to help you.

We are sorry that you are suffering. You must realize that you are grieving even though your mother is still here in an earthly form. Your mother, as you know her, is no longer there.

She is in a place she needs to be. You have to accept that or it will eat you alive. You have to be supportive to your Dad since he's suffering the loss of his wife, soul mate, buddy, friend.

Just know that the loss of ability for toilet necessity and other issues are all part of the dementia. the stroke affected the part of the brain that controls this and other functions.