It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2009, 04:19 PM   #1
(male)

jmmgt HB User
Grandmother broke hip

Hi everyone,

My name is Joel. I seldom post, but have been visiting the board for several years now. I am the sole caretaker for my grandmother, age 91 with approx. stage 5 Alz. I've been caring for her in my home for 6 yrs. as her dementia has progressed. The past two years have been extremely difficult, and the past 6 months have been very intense as her dementia worsened. I have had a sitter for 3 years while was working, but at night it was just she and I. She has really bad sundowning, and for the past few months, I have been getting only 3-4 hrs. of sleep. She had also gotten to the point where she would not bathe or change clothes, wearing the same clothes for weeks until they were dirty and smelled, refusing to even take them off at bedtime, sometimes even sleeping in her shoes.