It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2009, 09:35 PM   #1
(female)

tammykinz HB User
Hello

Hello

I just wanted to say hello. I am a psychiatric nurse working in special care. I have been working with individuals with dementia for past few years. I came to this site for other issues but found this message board and thought I would just say hello and read around. I couldn't have found a better field of nursing to work in !!! I have a grandmother with alzheimers as well who is still living at home with frequent visits from one of her daughters. there has been some talk about putting her in a care facility for safety reasons. Anyways , just thought I'd have a look around this message board!! I love these boards, it gives people a chance to talk with others with similar issues.

Old 09-12-2009, 03:55 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Martha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB User
Re: Hello

Welcome Tammy. This is a great place to learn abot Dementia. My Mom was in a NH for the last couple of years, and taken care of at home by me for 5 years before that. I was surprised at how nice the NH was, having had all kinds of fears. Now I think she would have been better off if she had entered the NH a year sooner. Come back agan and let us know how your grandma is doing.

Love,
Martha

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-12-2009, 06:30 AM   #3
Veteran
(female)

petal*pusher HB User

Hi Tammy....you are SO welcome! You will surely give everyone a perspective into the caretaking of our loved ones that will give relief to many here!