It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2010, 07:38 AM   #1
(female)

oceanwinds HB User
My Mom..Dementia

I'm new to this, please bear with me. My mom is in what seems to be advanced dementia (according to the posts) There wasn't much time to prepare for this as it seemed to come on quite rapidly. She caught cold a few months back and her doctor told me she had 24 to 48 hours to live but if by some miracle she pulled through then he would give her 6 mos. He then called Hospice. There have been some touch and go times since then. I am full time caregiver with a disability of my own and it sure gets tough. The hospice nurse comes once a week and the aide comes Mon-Fri with no weekend help. This is due to the fact that the nurse decided mom was doing quite well and is now saying they may pull out of here completely. It's been 90 days since hospice stepped in. The nurse sees my mom for about 20 minutes once a week. I am so worried that I will not be able to afford the medicines ( although few) that she takes not to mention the chuck pads and diapers. I have to give her 2 breathing treatments a day with Albuteral. Although she hasn't smoked in over 30 yrs she has emphysema which produces thick mucus build up in her chest. I must run to her each time she coughs it up and pull it out of her mouth. My day usually begins quite early, today it began at 4 am with her hollering for me. This morning I am "MOM". Waking to the loud screams of MOM through the baby monitor placed at my ear are without a doubt nerve shattering. Nothing she says makes any sense and I would give anything to hear just one normal sentence spoken. Mom seems to have rediscovered her appetite which a month ago was nearly non existent. She is now forgetting how to swallow and she can't weigh 80 pounds yet screams for food and insists she h