It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2010, 11:52 AM   #1
(female)

annyebug HB User
taking care of Mother in Law

Hi, I am totally new to message boards. I have been looking for some people to talk to about what I go through taking care of a Mother in Law with Frontal Lobe Demenita. She has been living with us for over a year now, and it just seems to get harder every day. I have 2 children a 9yr old girl and a 7 yr old boy, the way that they explain Nana is that she gets confused. I understand that there are going to be more times that she is snippy with me because of being her primary care taker and with her 24/7, but sometimes I want to find a hole and climb in and just cry. With my husband we have gone through denial, to just not wanting to deal with it. Which doesn't make it any easier for me. She has a house in New York that has to get sold, and he still hasn't taken any legal responsiblity of her at this time. I think the longer he puts it off, we might be waiting too long before she doesn't understand what needs to be done. It is overwhelming at times, because not only do I take care of her but I also work daily.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-25-2010, 12:33 PM   #2
(female)

jojo1109 HB User
Re: taking care of Mother in Law

Annyebug, welcome to the board.

I joined in Nov. when I first began to realize that both of my parents had dementia.
I'll pass along a few of the things everyone here shared with me.

First, it is progressive and will continue to get harder on you.

Second, you need to take care of yourself and not let things get to the point where you have no mental, emotional or physical reserves left. This means getting outside help - paid or family, and possibly assisted living.