It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-03-2010, 07:44 PM   #1
(female)

Baby Jane HB User
Unhappy HELP!! and I'm new to this message board

Hello everyone, I'm new to this board. My mother was diagnosed with Dementia 2 yrs ago this month. She lives with my sister and brother-in-law.

Well this weekend I am taking care of her while they go out of town and this is the worst I have ever seen her. She has been yelling at me and telling me to shut up all evening. Saying she has no idea who I am and that in the morning she is going to the Courthouse to get papers to prove that she is the owner of this house. She was fine up until about 9:00 when she was looking for her key to her house. I told her that she at my house and that she does not have a key here.. That's when it went downhill.

I argued with her for about 30 mins about where she is, to get ready for bed, etc. etc... and just decided I just need to stop and have been in my bedroom with the door closed ever since. She gets really nasty and rude when she's in this stage and says very hurtful things. So I thought its best that I remove myself from the situation.

Any suggestions for how to handle her tomorrow and part of Monday? I have 3 other sisters but they don't care at all and have never shown any interest in lending any assistance to helping my sister my mom stays with or my mother.

Old 07-04-2010, 03:21 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Martha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB User
Re: HELP!! and I'm new to this message board

Basic rule for Alzheimer/Dementia care: do not argue with them. As you found out, it is a futile exercise. She has an idea in her head and logic will not take it out.