It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2011, 11:00 AM   #1
(female)

nanfred HB User
Mum

This is my first post on this site and I am very new to the computer world, so lots of the terminology goes way over my head. Anyway, my Mum was diagnosed with Early Altzeimers nearly a year ago; the family had suspected for more than a couple of years though that it was more than "oldage forgetfulness". Well, 4 mths ago, she had 2 have op to remove an aneurysm. Then Novovirus and dehydration, a fall where she broke the top of her arm, ( another op for pins and plates to be put in), and we have noticed that although she is on Aricept, there has been a marked difference in her memory, like it's plunged! Mum thinks she has been in hospital for a week, 2 at most, but in fact it,s been 3 months out of the last 4! She's home now, not tolerating the careworkers that go in 3 times a day to give her her meds, which my sister and I had to arrange because Mum was taking them all over the place, when she fancied, and as Mum lives alone and both my sister and myself work shifts, we cannot be there to make sure they are administered on time. Rambling on now. Is that ok? Sis only wants to know details on a need2know basis and has left it to me to find out things. Mum is a very intelligent, independent woman, who thinks that she can still do all she used to, and while we are trying to keep as much the same for her, (that's 4 the best isn't it?), we are having awful problems curtailing her spending. I've stopped loads of catalogues arriving, taken her name off mailing lists etc. She could open her own shop! And what is the obsession with kitchen rolls!!! Two years ago, a work mate, who was going thro a bad time with a parent with Altzeimers, said get Power of Attorney before it's too late to do anything about it. Well we did