It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2011, 04:20 AM   #1
(female)

rlcs22 HB User
Grandpa's dementia got the best of me!

It has been awhile since I visited the boards and I do so miss the support and advice I was given. This time around, I saw myself give up on somebody I care about and once enjoyed being around. I thought I was strong, but I am not.

My fiance's grandfather was showing rapid decline in his abilities both cognitive and physical after a series of surgeries last year. I once suspected he had dementia (as I studied this in school) but could not convince my fiance who was sure his grandfather was just "weird".

Recently, I noticed an unusual odor coming from my grandfather. Knowing he does not bathe, it came as little surprise. But this odor was strong and foul. It would not go away. I confronted my lovely hubby to be with an ultimatum - Doctor appointment for his grandpa, or I walk out. Being the go getter that I usually am, I had already set up an appt for a Geriatric Assessment. My fiance agreed to go along with the plan. I tried politely to convince my grandfather one on one he needed a visit to the Dr. I even bargained with him. I told him if the Dr agreed he was in good standing, I would never ask him to visit the clinic again (although I would) he then proceeded to yell that my fiance and I do not care about him and we should all cut ties and 'go our separate ways'.

After a long talk, my fiance and I agreed to come on more strongly "we will go to jail if you don't do it" we told him. And like that! He agreed.