It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2011, 11:32 AM   #1
(female)

kathyrho HB User
Question on Namenda withdrawal...

Hi, I'm new to board and hoping to get some good information to my question on Namenda.

My mom is 89 and has advanced dementia. I'm her daughter and caregiver. About 4 weeks ago the doctors and I agreed to take mom off the aricept and namenda as I didn't see any need for it any longer. The doctor said we could always put her back on it.

About 3 weeks later mom changed dramatically for about 2 days. Where she never talked she talked constantly, incoherent though, and some hallucinations. On the 2nd day and after speaking with her doctor we started her with hospice. We agreed to put her back on the aricept and namenda. Along with 1 pill that night, she's been on no new medication.

Here's where my thinking is at. Could the withdrawal from the namenda lead to the change in behavior? Since she's been back on it she's been sleeping a whole lot and now about a week later I find her sleeping heavy and little responsiveness.

I read about namenda, of course now, it says starting dosage is 5mg, for a week, adding 5mg gradually until 10 mg 2 times a day. Well when I started giving her namenda again after a month the dosage was as was, 20 mg a day (10mg 2 times a day).

Is it possible that the sleepiness we are experiencing is a result of too much namenda? I realize you can't diagnose.

I'm fairly self relient and don't call for help unless needed. Are we in an over medication situation? Should this be addressed. I have a nurse coming tomorrow so I don't see anything critical.

I'm just hoping for information from someone who has good knowledge of Namenda use.

Thanks for any informationm you can give.
Kathy

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-19-2011, 01:50 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)