It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2012, 07:38 AM   #1
(female)

dp135 HB User
New to this wonderful message board

Hi,
I am reading all of your posts and just wanted to say I admire your courage and willingness to share. It is VERY helpful to those of us dealing with the care of loved ones with such devastating disease.

My story:

I've been a nurse for 31 years and am the care provider now for my mother
in the advanced stage of vascular dementia.
I gave up my FT nursing job and work perdiem once or twice a month when family can care for her to keep myself in the workforce. Work feels a bit too close to home sometimes but at least I get out and earn a bit of money;=)

When she moved in with me 2.5 yrs ago she was unable to care for her finances, diabetes and live alone but was ok otherwise - Walking, understanding most things etc.

Now, 2.5 yrs and a year after major surgery (a right above the knee amputation due to vascular disease), 2 hospitalizations while in rehab that did nothing but make her deteriorate, she is incontinent unless I get lucky and get her on the commode and she manages to go for me. She does not even know what she has to do. I had her to a urologist for a small UTI but that cleared and does not seem to be the culprit in the cognitive decline.
It is now resolved.

Her ability to process information is just shot. Of late she is just sleeping all the time, the cognitive decline is just shocking to watch. This past week she has started the closing eyes at the table vs eating and has a lot of neurological signs and reflexes when sleeping.
I feel she is starting to shut down neurologically.