It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2012, 02:22 PM   #1
(female)

TimeToLiveLife HB User
Normal Dementia?

I'm new to all of this, but I'll try to keep this brief. My MIL was diagnosed with dementia and has been living with us for the past year. About 8 months ago we gave her a coloring book (we told her it was for the baby) to keep her busy.. Yes, she's still working on it. A while ago, she started telling us how if you push the button on the coloring book, it illuminates. OK, I know that's a hallucination. Recently she's really into it being extremely complicated. She asks for help and goes on and on. I really don't understand what she's saying, so I tell her, it your coloring book, you can color it however you want. She gets upset and says No! I can't! If I don't do it this way the picture disappears, you can't color the lion while he's sleeping, you have to wake him up.. She's pretty consistent with how the book has to be done, how different things "appear", etc. A friend of mine who works with dementia patients says that doesn't sound like dementia, it sounds like some kind of psychosis. She does hallucinate a lot. The majority of the day, actually. Does this sound normal? Does anyone else experience this? I don't know if I should just chalk it up to dementia or talk to her doctor about some kind of evaluation. Thank you very much for any feedback!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-10-2012, 08:14 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Gabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB User
Re: Normal Dementia?