It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2012, 03:57 PM   #1
(female)

Cyrisse HB User
Need Suggestions

Hi-
I am a retired nurse taking care for my husband 's aunt in our home since 11/11, she is actually husband's aunt. She is 97 and needs supervision for most things. My husband 62yo HATES being in this situation. He does nothing for her, only criticizes everything she does. Anything that comes out of his mouth, he has bad things to say for, never a small compliment . He tries to tell the doctor what to do and feels There is no other family who and really needs to b in a nsg home. We take her to a gerontologist who knows about the space I am in. He generally will go most to all occasions w/o me. We are in the process of moving to another state so it is not reasonable to place her in a facility. Now I do a few things for myself(shopping) to get away, there are days that are bad for me too, but I am nice to her. Hubby thinks she should follow rules, which in the long run is not possible. Our relationship has been bad for four years, and this situation makes worse.Activities do not work bec she is not able to see well and boy id her memory bad!
I have had it, need advice. Thanks!!

Old 08-22-2012, 06:48 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Gabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB User
Re: Need Suggestions