It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2012, 10:28 AM   #1
(female)

TurksMom HB User
Question Dementia and the Caretaker

Hi, I'm new to this health board, but it sure has encouraged me! It is good to know that others are also plodding through this dilemma. Just yesterday our neurologist pretty much confirmed that this is dementia of some sort that my husband is dealing with. It made me sad, and yet at the same time happy to have some sort of confirmation. I thought it was just me getting less and less patient with my husband! You are all kind to take time to explain your situation and let us know that we, too, can cope in our own ways. Does anyone have any good advice on dealing with the frustrations of being a caretaker? Or any help for my poor daughters who still live at home and are always finding places to disappear to?! It is sad to see my family disperse because nobody wants to be around Dad anymore.

The following user gives a hug of support to TurksMom:
bearcubs (10-18-2012)
Old 10-17-2012, 11:28 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Gabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB UserGabriel HB User
Re: Dementia and the Caretaker

Turks welcome to the board and I am so glad you decided to post. Also glad that something you found here has made your journey a little more enlightened. I am so sorry that you are on this journey with your husband but glad you found us!!

I do understand your feelings after his diagnosis. It is scary. It is sad. But at the same time it gives you validation and explanation of what is going on. It lets you know there is a medical reason for what you are going through. Just knowing it is not him being intentional difficult and you being impatient is a relief.