It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2012, 09:27 PM   #1
(female)

helpless dghter HB User
Torn between Mom and Dad..

Hi all,

I am very new with this and I am looking forward to hearing from each one of you.
I am here to discuss about my dad who was diagnose with Dimentia 5 years back. We are 3 sibling but all everywhere and this has made me as the eldest daughter torn and broken to hear daily from my mom about dad's condition and progress..
I feel very sorry for mom because beside being dad's carer, she is also the bread earner in her home.Her lack of energy, her shattered heart, her tiredness has made her drown deep in frustration,sadness and helpless most of all confused.
Dad was on Aricept and we took it off from him because aricept made him into a zombie.. he was hallucinating bad, he had bad tantrums, shouts alot and ran many times. now almost 3 weeks off aricept, though he is much better person but anger and accusing still lingers and mom noticed that he\is memory has fade drastically and he gets tired most of the day.
Today he didnt knw which one is socks and which one is handkerchief.. he covered his feet with a hanky and put socks in his pocket.
But what worries mom and frustrate her is he refused to be helped, corrected, guided and assited.. he get very angry and refuse to listen. He accuse her for many things too sometimes swearing on her.
What is strange is when she is not next to him / away he calls her and says he miss her , to come home quick and very soft voice very loving.. but when mom is at home with him, he looks at her with disgust and anger.
when he gets angry he refuse to eat and he just sleeps.