It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2007, 12:54 PM   #1
(female)

godsgirltx HB User
Strange Situation

This is my first time posting to any message board. I am kind of in a strange situation and I'm not sure how to handle it. My ex-husband has recently been diagnosed with ALS (he's in his 30's). We have a 10-year-old child who spends a lot of time with his dad. My ex is remarried and has told me that he doesn't want to tell our son yet . . . I'm not sure what "yet" means in the sense that I'm assuming (based on the research I've done regarding ALS) he will have to tell him relatively soon since this is not a disease that can be pushed under the carpet.

So . . . here's my question, as it relates to our son, what is my place in this disturbing situation. I don't want to "step on any toes" with my ex's immediate family, however, I do have a HUGE responsibility looming in the future with regard to our son.

I've called our local ALS chapter to find out if there are any other ex's dealing with the same situation and they told me that they don't know of any. I could go to a support group, I suppose, but since there is only 1 group in our vicinity, I really don't want to show up there and see my ex or any of his family members there. Like I said . . . I'm trying to stay in the background and only deal with this as it relates to our son.

Help!!!! Does anyone have any thoughts for me?

Old 02-14-2007, 06:20 PM   #2
(female)

Eileen123 HB User
Re: Strange Situation

Quote:
Originally Posted by godsgirltx View Post