It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-16-2007, 09:22 PM   #1
(male)

browser3 HB User
Unhappy i have the symptoms....advice?

I'm a 21 year old student, and I'm trying very hard to figure some things out right now. I noticed shaky hands over the summer when i was trying to do something very carefully. Also around that time I noticed a twitch in my head that was very minor and paid no attention to it. As of 2 weeks ago it started getting bad, I can't do simple things in my lab with one hand. It starts shaking violently the more I try to control it. Also I'm having trouble keeping my head still as I try to concentrate on something, or have a conversation with people. I believe the symptoms are getting worse every day so I set up a doctors appointment for my next break from school which is 4 weeks away. I'm debating going home asap though if it gets worse.

I've been reading symptons and I have no speech problems of any sort or tripping. Also I read it is rare for someone of my age to have this. Not sure what I am asking for, just nervous. Are my symptoms synonymous with ALS? Should I not wait as long as I am to get this checked? Sorry for the long rant.

*btw, one of my uncles was diagnosed with als

Last edited by browser3; 09-17-2007 at 05:34 AM.

Old 09-17-2007, 04:23 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Brocallie HB UserBrocallie HB UserBrocallie HB UserBrocallie HB UserBrocallie HB User
Re: i have the symptoms....advice?

You don't have the symptoms of ALS. I'd suggest starting out at your campus health clinic. This could be something as simple as too much caffeine compounded by worry.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-18-2007, 07:14 PM   #3
Veteran
(female)

miyu HB Usermiyu HB User