It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-28-2007, 09:47 PM   #1
(male)

vgranada HB User
end stage ALS life expectancy

Hi, my dad (68 years old) was just diagnosed with advanced ALS. Major symptoms appeared 5 months ago; now he has lost 50 lbs, and is on a trach with BiPAP and a feeding tube. I'm trying to plan my life (for the worst) but hope for the best. I'm asking for anyone who has had a similar experience about the life expectancy at this point. I know there are many factors that can prolong this, but I just need any figure to start plan around. I'm a teacher in a different city but I'm planning to move home, it's just a matter of when. I want to be close in case anything happens. Any feedback would help. I'm glad I found this forum. I'm new to all this. Thanks in advance.

Old 10-31-2007, 10:28 PM   #2
(female)

Sweetgal175 HB User
Re: end stage ALS life expectancy