It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2010, 09:33 AM   #1
(male)

motionstorm HB User
Twitching has me beat me up terribly...

Folks, I'm 37 and married with children. I work as a designer and spend much of my waking hours on a computer. Please let me list the events in order and garner your thoughts. To say the least, I CANNOT get over this anxiety and fear brought on by the twitching in my right index finger and thumb.

About 6-7 weeks ago I had cycled on a low-caffine supplement and the day I cycled on it I had my twitch start. I ONLY noticed it when at the computer, when at rest I didn't have it. After about 2-3 days it went away. I didn't notice it again until two weeks ago. I cycled off supplement and the next day my index finger and thumb began to twitch and it has done so since. It seems to be positional, primarily when I'm working on mouse or holding a book when my hand is doing activity... when at rest there is no twitch.

These supplements additionally brought on a tight throat that is affected by stress and anxiety and for inquiring minds NO I will not touch them anymore.

I have had a little pang of pain here and there along my wrist and in the pads of my hands but those only come after I've scrutinized that twitching hand like crazy. I've seen a neurologist who said that he could assure me that I didn't have ALS, parkinsons or MS. He told me and my wife that he thought it was BFS or essential tremor. Surprisingly enough my sister, 2 years younger, told me that years ago she had same fingers affected by tremors that went away after a few months... she had been diagnosed with essential tremor.