It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anemia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2003, 12:17 PM   #1

macy1029 HB User
Question Iron Deficiency and B12 Deficiency-Causes?

Hi Everyone

I am a newbie as I just joined these boards yesterday and am Glad that I found all of you.

Because I am of Irish ancestory and I had symptoms close to Iron Overload I asked my primary doc to check my Iron for this--knowing that it was an inexpensive test. That was in July of last year. Doc told me no Iron Overload--Great, so I put that thought to rest. Well when I was at the clinic about 6 months later I had my chart and a little time on my hands and began to look thru it. I found that my Serum Iron Level was deficient at 19 (normal is 49 to 151), my Ferritin was slightly low at 14.06 and my Percent Saturation was 4 (normal is 20 to 55). Because I was having symptoms of perphial neuropathy and weakness I went to see a neurologist who ran tests and told me that my B12 level was low ---202 (normal is 250 to 850). It was subsequently discovered that I have perphial neuropathy of my feet and hands. I also have RA, Sjogrens, PMR, Diabetes and other maladies. So I am finally getting to my question. What could cause low levels of both B12 and Iron? I eat healthy and eat meat etc. My IF Factor is fine. I do not have excessively heavy periods. I DO have trouble with my stomach--diareha often when I eat--stomach aches when I eat and sometimes cramps when I eat. I got a B12 shot and than the doc put me on B12 vitamins--2000 mcg per day and my B12 levels have improved. But still no reason as to what caused both deficiencies. I don't even know what my iron is now and i have not taken any iron pills. Could my vitamin deficiencies be caused by a malabsorption problems or Chrons? Has anyone else experienced this? Thanks.

Dana

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-21-2003, 09:48 AM   #2

MGROB HB User