It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anemia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2007, 06:47 PM   #1
(female)

Susanheb HB User
iron in blood work Q, new here

Hi,
I'm new to the world of anemia and new to this board. I have been reading as much as I can here but I'm having a hard time concentrating and reading so much. lol <sigh> So, I thought I would put my question out here as well just in case.

I had blood work done almost 5 years ago because I had pneumonia at the time. It came back showing that I was anemic. The emerg dr told me to get it checked but I didn't think much of it and I didn't really relish the thought of taking iron pills. I knew about iron pills because I had to take them when I was pregnant and all I knew was that they made me constipated. So, I underestimated the seriousness of anemia.

Fast forward, 5 yrs later, and I am experiencing some really weird symptoms of tailbone pain and constipation. I go to the dr and along with an xray, she sends me for routine blood work. My second visit, she asks me if I knew I was anemic. Ummm okay. I'm steadily decaying by this point. After my third visit, I insisted on seeing someone who knew what they were talking about.

Anyways, to make a stupid long story just a bit shorter...my stupid dr did a CBC as well as a couple other blood tests.
She told me that I was anemic and needed iron BUT the bloodwork doesn't show any test for iron levels!!! So now, here I am, waiting for my colonoscopy/gastroscopy and taking 900 mg of ferrous fumarate and wondering if I'm poisoning myself!!!! I don't trust this dr at all but up here, we really don't have any choice of dr's. (Not private health care in Ontario lol) It's just very hard to find another dr.