It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anemia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2007, 08:25 PM   #1
(female)

kyahsmomma HB User
gastric bypass 4 years ago and iron is at a 6 please help

i am 30 years old and had gastric bypass 4 years ago. The last year I have had several health issues pop up but this is by far the most baffling of all. I went in for regular blood work and was told my iron level was a 7. so i did the 3 months of iron pills 2 times a day and i still dropped to a 6. i then had a endoscopy and colonoscopy done and was told everything looked ok that there was no internal bleeding, however, they think the doc who did the bypass took out too much intestines, therefor I can not absorb iron at all. so now they are talking about bi weekly iron infusions for the rest of my life since i will never be able to absorb iron again. they told me that I am no longer producing new red blood cells thus my bone marrow is getting none. does anyone have any indight to this at all???????????????PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!

Old 09-13-2007, 11:02 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

ChristineVA HB UserChristineVA HB UserChristineVA HB User
Re: gastric bypass 4 years ago and iron is at a 6 please help

I can't help you much with this but I can tell you that this seems to be fairly common is gastric bypass patients; i.e., you are not the first gastric bypass patient to post here about this problem. Your stomach is where iron is absorbed and since you lost most of your stomach you absorption is impaired. If this is the case, I assume that no amount of oral iron is going to help you.

You are probably going to have to do the infusions and then maybe try to find a gastroenterologist who specializes in gastric bypass patients and dietary concerns to see if you can do something about this.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-13-2007, 07:25 PM   #3
(female)

shefab HB User