It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anemia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2009, 11:48 AM   #1
(female)

Wynslett HB User
Iron Deficiency, Pernicious Anemia, or just going crazy?

Hi all-
I am new to this message board.

I'm trying to figure out what could be wrong with me! I wanted to post my symptoms and a few of my lab results and see if anyone can relate to this.

I am a 41 year old female and for the past few months I have been suffering from severe anxiety and depression. A severe panic attack ( I almost fainted in the grocery store) sent me to the ER where they discovered I was anemic. I was told by my PCP to take Slow Fe iron supplements 2 times a day which I have been faithfully. I just had additional blood work done yesterday and I was able to view my results online this morning. (gotta love that 1 thing about Kaiser) Now mind you I have not talked to my PCP about this, but I am a hypochondriac and always jump to the worst case scenario. I will be in contact with her tomorrow. My CBC counts are as follows:

WBC COUNT 7.8 Normal range: 3.5-12.5 K/uL
RED BLOOD CELLS COUNT 4.72 Normal range: 3.60-5.70 M/uL
HGB 12.4 Normal range 11.5-15.0 g/dL
HEMATOCRIT 39.1 Normal range 34.0-46.0 %
MCV 83 Normal range 80-100 fL
RDW, RBC 18.5 Normal range 11.9-14.3 %
PLATELETS COUNT 216 Normal range 140-400 K/uL

What does the RDW mean? That was the only thing that was out of range. When I try to research it, it always mentions Pernicious Anemia as a possible cause. Should I ask for some other types of tests? Could I be low on B-12 indicating Pernicious Anemia?