It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anemia Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2012, 05:11 PM   #1
(female)

Huttotom HB User
Venofer IV infusions

My hematologist has me going in for infusions twice a week for 9 weeks for a total of 18-100mg treatments. My ferritin was below 1 and hemoglobin under 8. Has anyone else had this many treatments?

Old 12-24-2012, 09:49 AM   #2
(female)

cryssyd3 HB User
Re: Venofer IV infusions

I am new to this whole iron infusion thing. I haven't had one yet, but I just went to the hemotologist this morning as was told I'd need the same infusions but 100 mg once a week for 6-10 weeks. my ferritin was less than 0.5 last week when I had my blood done.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-24-2012, 10:13 AM   #3
Inactive
(female)

writeleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB User

Hi there,

I have gone through several rounds of infusions of venofer over the last years.

Although they can be time consuming, the infusions themselves are a piece of cake. The infusion center is very comfortable, with each patient seated in nice recliners, where juice and snacks are either provided, or can be brought in yourself. Most infusions will take a few hours, during which time you are free to read, use your computer, watch TV, or whatever you like to pass the time. There is no pain, and I found it to be relaxing.

I felt much better too, as my levels began to rise. Both times, I did not need the full round of treatment that was initially prescribed.

I hope your anticipation is eased a bit by knowing that it is a positive step in regaining your health. My best to you...

Old 12-24-2012, 08:30 PM   #4
(female)

Huttotom HB User