It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anemia Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2013, 06:23 PM   #1
(female)

charlibee HB User
could someone check these numbers? incompetent doctor?

I recently had a hemorrhage while giving birth which was completely unexpected. The only medical kind of trouble I had during birth was low energy and found out I was anemic. (ps, I took iron supplements and got into the low area of the normal range before giving birth, luckily).

Anyways, I want to figure out why I hemorrhaged (any health issues being overlooked) and went to have my blood tested for iron levels and any clotting issues. My doc said the results came back 'fine', but when I requested a copy, they did not look fine to me.

But what do I know, I'm not a doctor!

Could I get the advise from some of you here on what you think of these numbers:

wbc - 7.5
rbc - 4.16 (low) (range 4.2-5.5) m/uL
hgb 11.7 (low) (range 12-16) g/dL
HCT 38.7
MCV 93
MCH 28.1
MCHC 30.2 (low) (range 32-36) g/dL
RDW 13.7
PLT 282
MPV 11.6 (high) (range 7.4-10.4) IL

I'm a novice to all this. Did a google search and came to the conclusion that this could mean: bleed easily, low iron, autoimmune/inflammation, etc. and that High platelet volume is usually the result of infection, anemia, blood loss, cancer and arthritis/inflammatory diseases or luekemia, mycoplasmas, cirrhosis, lymphoma etc. That's all I came up with.

ALL I want to know is if I have a blood disorder and/or clotting issue..?? I've dealt with too many incompetent doctors in the past so I am very skeptical of her saying I'm 'fine'.

Don't these numbers mean something is a little off in my blood??

Thank you for any thoughts, opinions, etc. I've given up on doctors and have no insurance now for the time being so finding a 'good one' is not an option at the moment.

Last edited by charlibee; 02-07-2013 at 06:24 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb