It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Angina Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2003, 10:57 PM   #1
Inactive

LindaG HB User
Post Angina? Lung problem? Opinions please

I'm 33 years old and I have a crushing, heavy discomfort in the upper middle part of my chest that radiates into my neck/throat. It feels like I'm laying down with a heavy box placed on my chest and throat. I don't feel like I'm getting enough air when I inhale. I have to do a hard cough and take a really deep breath every so often to feel like I'm getting enough air. If I'm sitting slouched I have to sit up straight to try to relieve the pressure but it doesn't seem to work. This has been going on about two weeks. I'd be so grateful for any thoughts or suggestions. Thank you!

Old 02-01-2003, 07:29 AM   #2
Inactive

Merrida HB User
I'm not a doctor, so I certainly wouldn't be able to even guess if this is heart or lung related, -- that said, here's a few opinions.

I get similar sensations, and in my experience, I've found it can be:

1) Anxiety - you don't have to feel like you're "going nuts" or that there's something terribly wrong to feel the symptoms of anxiety or panic attacks. Look at your life and see what happened 2 weeks ago, if things culminated, and your body is reacting to other things in your life. If you feel like you cannot express yourself (at home, at work, physically, emotionally, etc), if you're supressing feelings, or feel caught,...sometimes our bodies express this with physical symptoms, such as difficulty breathing, throat constriction, being comfortable only in certain positions (think of that analogy in other aspects of your life, this is very real stuff),... these are just some of the symptoms.