It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Tips Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2009, 06:54 AM   #1
(female)

jenjen09 HB User
A tough nut, but I finally cracked!

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting after lurking for literally months. For a long time I haven't felt like I had anything to offer, just looking for any and all advice on anxiety, panic attacks and depression. I know we are all different, but I'm hoping this will help at least one other person out there.

Long story short, about 1.5 years ago I suffered from a horribly traumatic experience that turned my life upside down, I've suffered continually from anxiety and panic attacks ever since then. If I slept at all it was poor, hated going out in public because it'd happen every time (couldn't breathe, shaking, cold sweats, heart pounding right out of my chest, fighting back tears), even at home any little thing even a stupid TV commercial would trigger an attack.

I tried 3 different medications and hated them all, besides side effects they just made me feel like a stranger in my body or like I wasn't even *in* my body if you know what I mean. Tried breathing techniques, visualization, reading self help books and the like but it didn't help. By December I was suicidal because I hadn't made any progress I just didn't think there was any hope for me and I didn't see any point in continuing. For what? 50 more years of this?

So here's what worked for me: Note I didn't do one thing at a time, I did it all combined and I think that made a huge difference.

1. EMDR (Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprogramming)