It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2003, 06:19 PM   #1
Inactive

MariaS HB User
Kava and antidepressants: please help.

Hello everyone,

I know some of you on these boards have some knowledge about natural remedies for anxiety, and I was wondering if anyone knew if kava is safe to take with antidepressants.

I am currently taking 20 mg of Celexa daily, and I've read some sources that say it's ok, some that say it's not, and some that just plainly don't know. I know kava is really not recommended with benzos, but since antidepressants don't act as sedatives, I wouldn't see it as a problem.

Does anyone know?

Old 11-13-2003, 10:29 PM   #2
Inactive

Forrester HB User
I am not a doctor but I have heard it is not good to mix herbs with prescription medication. I have also heard things about kava, I can't remember what, something negative, that makes people not take it anymore. does anyone remember? I've never taken kava kava. Hopefully others will know. So the Celexa isn't enough? I would get another psychiatric consult if it does not seem to be working. It's such a crapshoot to get the right drug to do the trick.

Hopefully someone else on this board will help you, but I would think it would be too risky to take herbs and prescription meds.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-14-2003, 01:58 PM   #3
Inactive

Fighter HB User