It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2004, 10:34 PM   #1

moe2121 HB User
how do you deal?

those with anxiety and/or social anxiety-how do you deal with school or work? i am a college student and it has been very difficult for me. was on meds but no longer am. I have anxiety particularly social. Just wondering how you guys get by day to day in settings such as school or work?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-12-2004, 12:08 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

hry33 HB Userhry33 HB User
Re: how do you deal?

get some books on overcoming social anxiety and panic disorder and agoraphobia, they will have all the info you need

meds also help

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-12-2004, 01:49 PM   #3

moe2121 HB User

thanks for responding. I meant this post to be more of a poll i guess then advice. i just wanted to know what other peoples coping methods were. thanks.

Old 08-12-2004, 02:27 PM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)

elatedgiraffe HB User

Moe--
I had my first panic attack freshman year of college. How did I deal? Well for about 6 months I was on meds and then decided to get off them because I didn't like the way they made me feel. (common complaint). I was in therapy for about 2 years (twice a month). You have to deal if you want to get a college degree and graduate. I did the best I could with my limitations. I educated myself alot on anxiety, etc. I had a hard time on tests and presentations, but I did the best I could and graduated. I took it one day at a time. College is a REALLY stressful time. I didn't think it was that bad during it, but looking back I see why I had such anxiety. Just know that you can get through it and that it will only hold you back from your dreams if you let it.

Old 08-12-2004, 08:23 PM   #5

Jchandra88 HB User