It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2004, 03:32 AM   #1
(male)

SeeSaw99 HB User
Anxiety and the formation of speech

Hi everyone--

I am wondering if anyone can relate to my situation. I'm a graduate student, but my social anxiety really is hurting me. The problem is that in class, or at work, I often go blank on what to say when put on the spot to talk or when I have to give a presentation. It's like I'm focused on the process of speaking itself and then I stumble badly and often sound completely unintelligent. Can anyone identify with this? It's like I totally lose my ability to think of things to say because I know people are focused on me--and I end up drawing a complete blank (almost as if the speech-forming part of my brain went on vacation). I'm afraid I might be the only one like this, but I thought I'd post my feelings here. Any support/advice on this would be really helpful.

Old 09-26-2004, 09:10 AM   #2
Veteran

bluetooth HB User
Re: Anxiety and the formation of speech

wow im so like that!

its like you know what you want to say and youve rehearsed it but you get anxious with everyones attention on you and you go blank!
im the exact same and hate public speaking.

this always happens to me in most situations where im not familiar with the people or dont know them enough. i think this kinda thing works better if you have to speak with people you like or infront of friends

i just imagine no ones looking at me and smile alot. try to remember they are only focusing on your presentation and not you, it might seem hard but everytime you say that in your head, those anxious vibes are being replaced everytime you say it cos ur thinking bout something else
thats what i think and thats how i explain it, despite if you comprehend or not

good luck!!! you'll be alright, chew gum if it helps.

Sponsors Lightbulb