It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2004, 07:12 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

twanger HB User
How many exerience shortness of breath and how long does it last?

Do you go through episodes of it and then the shortness goes away or does it continue?

I have it off and on and I don't understand what causes it. Is it a common symptom of anxiety?

Old 09-27-2004, 08:58 AM   #2
Veteran

bluetooth HB User
Re: How many exerience shortness of breath and how long does it last?

I experience it

it goes away eventually
at an estimate for me it lasts 5-10 mins maybe less

i think its common yes but i think its more related with panic disorders, how ever im not a doctor so i dont really know, i assume

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-27-2004, 09:41 AM   #3
Veteran
(male)

tooanxious HB User

Ive been getting these episodes lately. It really sucks becuase its effecting my sleep lately. I wake up and feel like I cant get a big enough breath in. Im not sure if Im hyperventilating or have asthma or something. I am going to a doc today to ask about this. Every time they have checked my lungs though their clear. Also I know that even during these episodes I check my breathing and Im pushing out enough air but it still feels like Im not. Its a horrible feeling. During the day the episodes dont last long but at night it feels like Im hyperventilating in my sleep. Anyone else experience this during sleep?

Last edited by tooanxious; 09-27-2004 at 09:51 AM.

Old 09-27-2004, 10:08 AM   #4
Veteran
(male)

tooanxious HB User

I yawn trying to get a big enough breath in also. When I finally get that feeling that I have a big enough breath in Im fine. Sometimes it takes a while to get their and it feels like your suffocating.

Old 09-27-2004, 10:13 AM   #5
Inactive

Yommy HB User

TooAnxious-