It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2005, 06:59 AM   #1

bladebeam HB User
Dont know what to do

So this morning was eventful. I took the works van out and had an accident which was totally my fault. I am a terrible driver and have always been scared of driving and now after today I think I have confirmed it.
The people at work were understandably annoyed and my I was with myself aswell but I was so anxious more than anything. Now the job involves alot of driving so I think I am going to have to quit, I just cant do it anymore, people keep saying be a man carry on, but I dont think I am any less of a man for being scared of driving, its one of those things I just dont think I can do.
Can I just quit a job and leave forever or do I have to give notice ? I just cant do this anymore and I cant wait for this day to be over.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-05-2005, 02:11 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

hry33 HB Userhry33 HB User
Re: Dont know what to do

{REMOVED}
why not ask for a transfer to a job with no driving for a while

if you have a phobia about driving, meds may help but obviously side effects such as sedation come into it

Last edited by ms_mod; 09-05-2005 at 02:54 PM. Reason: Inappropriate comment. Thanks, Ms_Mod

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-05-2005, 05:22 PM   #3

MKLowTone HB User

One thing I will say is that, at the end of the day, if you are nervous or scared of driving then please don't drive

It's very dangerous both to yourself and to other road users if you do

But if it's just the thought of driving (and you are OK when you get in and do it) then you will only have to work on that aspect of it (meds, therapy, calming techniques...)

Old 09-06-2005, 01:56 AM   #4

bladebeam HB User

I am usually ok when I know the road, but if I go somewhere I have never been before I get nervous.