It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2006, 02:42 PM   #1
(female)

bumblebee919 HB User
xanax and caffeine

Hi all - I don't normally drink coffee because it makes my anxiety go up whenever I drink it, but I had barely any sleep today so I drank coffee. I now have a high anxiety level.

My question is -- is it ok to take a xanax when you've had a couple cups of coffee during the day? Caffeine is a stimulant and xanax relaxes you, so is it bad to take xanax when there is a bunch of caffeine running through your system?

Any responses would greatly be appreciated

Thanks everyone!!

Old 01-30-2006, 03:47 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Graciecat HB UserGraciecat HB User
Re: xanax and caffeine

I'm not an expert or a medical professional of any sort so this is just my experiance.

First of all I do have to say that caffeine never made my anxiety worse so I might not be the best person to answer this...but when I took Xanax I drank at least 3 cups of coffee or tea every single day and it never did anything to me.

Like I said, that's just my experiance and caffeine never bothered me in the first place so that could be why I never had a problem.

Sorry I couldn't be of more help.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-30-2006, 07:43 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(male)

Punkdizzle HB User

heh Its funny you asked this question because for the last 2 months i have been drinking things with caffeine in it in small amounts to see if it would matter with the xanax... no difference i mean i am sure if i had like 6 cups of coffee a day or something i would be wired.. but for me a small amount like 1 cup of coffee or a can of cola does nothing to up my anxiety when i am on xanax..