It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2006, 01:26 PM   #1

kittenhead HB User
Suggestions?

Hello! I'm new to the anxiety forums here and I've been a little shy about talking about stuff, but I was wondering if maybe you guys have some suggestions for me.

I started taking Lexapro on Friday and my anxiety got so much worse that I was in physical pain all weekend long. I read the stickied thread so I know that it isn't uncommon for people to feel worse when first taking a new med. What I'm wondering is if there are some suggestions for me to help relieve some of the things that come along with anxiety until my body is used to the drug?

Pretty much my stomach has been in constant knots, my jaw aches horribly and I have been having nonstop tension headaches. Is there an over the counter medicine that works well for this? Tylonel, Ibuprofen, etc.

Also, do you have any suggestions for ways to relax. Normally when I feel panicky or anxious I can usually just wait it out but it's been pretty constant and I haven't been able to fall asleep or stay asleep very well because I get all shaky and twitchy and I can't get my muscles to relax.

This is gonna get better, right? I was really nervous to start taking the Lexapro because I've never been on a med like this before.

Sorry if this is a stupid thread that other people have posted before!

Old 04-24-2006, 01:38 PM   #2
Veteran
(female)

V_dubgurl HB User
Re: Suggestions?

Yes it will get better. Try relaxation cd's or chamomile tea before bed at night. It helps me a lot. Also try not to go to bed until you are tired otherwise you will not fall asleep. I did get very bad when first starting my zoloft after 4 weeks I was ready to give up until the 5th week I felt better so hang in there. Keep yourself busy and try the advil for the headaches. It couldn't hurt.