It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-30-2007, 01:04 PM   #1
(female)

LocaJoker HB User
*Sigh...I wish I wasnt so scared of myself

Hi there, I am a 19 year old student and I have an anxiety disorder. I have had this for over a year now but it comes and goes. The first time I had a panic attack was when I was asleep, I awoke violently shaking and could not regain control until maybe a few weeks later. I constantly get palpitations, fluttering sensations and I keep checking my pulse. I fear death even though I know everyone will die eventually. I keep thinking my heart will stop beating and these thoughts of me dying are causing me to have sleepless nights. I awoke this morning gasping for breath, thinking I was having a heart attack but I calmed down half an hour later (although my chest does still hurt) Logic seems to go out the window, and I feel that I will destroy myself eventually if I dont break away from myself, from my fears. Im such a coward.
Another thing that I imagine is me chocking when I eat, I just imagine these scenarios and cant help but become tense whenever I approach food. I cant even enjoy eating anymore because Im so worried about chocking. I know I have a problem, its just I hate talking to people who will pity me or sit there quietly waiting for me to tell them everything. Im not good with expressing my emotions, and I hate asking for help....but I need it. I have to deal with this because it is consuming my spirit.
Can anyone advise me on what to do? I think I know but I need to hear what others have to say.
Thanks.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-30-2007, 04:38 PM   #2
(male)

spurs279 HB User
Re: *Sigh...I wish I wasnt so scared of myself