It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2009, 07:53 PM   #1
(female)

zzffgg58 HB User
loss of appetite and weight loss

Hi-I am new to this. My 31 yr old son has just been diagnosed with panic disorder and anxiety. He has lost at least 15 pounds in 6 weeks. He can no longer eat hardly anything. He has to force food down, mainly soda crackers and a couple boost plus drinks a day. Never feels hungry anymore. He just told us last friday that he has been having panic attacks since high school, and that since fall they have been getting worse. When he gets these he tends to vomit or feel very close to vomiting. About six weeks ago he had a panic attack driving home from work, and vomited all over himself and ending up driving in the ditch. Ever since then is when his appetite seems to have almost totally diminished. He said he has been having 2-3 panic attacks a day where he feels like vomiting. Never at work, he works for our family business. Last friday he had another episode of vomiting during panic attack, this attack came at home when he was contemplating going out for the night, but got scared he would vomit if he was out, finally called us to come over and explained what has been happening to him. Took him to the er on sat night cause he was very anxious and nauseaus. They gave him prilosec, ativan, and something for nausea and told us to take him to dr on monday. We did that and got the diagnosis. Dr put him on zoloft, but told him he could get really sick to his stomach and have no appetite! This is supposed to help his problem? The ativan helps calm him down when he eats anything, cause he always feels like he is going to throw up after he manages to get a little food down. Now this doctor doesn't want him to take the ativan because it's addicting. Why can't he let him take it until the zoloft actually starts work