It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2010, 12:54 PM   #1
(female)

jensca37 HB User
Should I quit my job because of anxiety and depression?

I really need some input on this matter. I have been working for CDCR for almost 5 years now. At first, it was alright but now the job causes me severe anxiety. I am on leave at this time but when I do have to go to work I get sweaty, shaky, and the feeling that I'm going to throw up. I also cry every morning. My doctor (psychiatrist) wrote a letter to my employer requesting a reasonable accommodation to move elsewhere in the prison but they denied it. I've thought about resigning but the pay is decent and I have great health benefits. I work behind the wall and there are no windows and when I get anxious I'm supposed to be able to get out and walk. I was told by HR that I can walk on the yard with the inmates, which seems unsafe. My supervisor is not sympathetic at all and seems that she doesn't want me to work there at all. Someone please help.
Thank you

The following user gives a hug of support to jensca37:
embalmer (12-21-2010)
Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-21-2010, 02:13 PM   #2
(female)

dhill2020 HB User
Re: Should I quit my job because of anxiety and depression?

Hi Is your anxiety freefloating, like in general? Or is it because you are in the wrong job for you. Either way, in this economy we don't all have the option of quitting a good job because of something that you could be treated for. Anxiety & depression are both manageable conditions. Have you tried any meds for anxiety? I would use every other resourse available to me before I quit a good job with good bene;s. Unless you can afford to quit and look for something better suited for you. Good Luck

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-24-2010, 01:53 PM   #3
(male)

The Mad hatter HB User