It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2012, 04:57 PM   #1
(female)

jlsp HB Userjlsp HB User
Unhappy Agoraphobia, anyone?

Hello everyone. I have been posting on HealthBoards for several years and life has been quite a roller coaster ride for me with an ongoing illness I have called Valley Fever, also know as coccidioidomycosis, which is a chronic fungal infection having disseminated to my lungs, joints and brain. After years of dealing with this illness I have now become agoraphobic; not wanting to leave my house and not wanting anyone to enter my home. Oh, I manage to drive to certain places as long I take the same route each time. I do not ever ride in other peoples cars, and I really don't like anyone driving with me. I never thought this would happen to me. I am now 50 pounds overweight because I have quit going outdoors, and have lost all motivation to exercise. And the weirdest thing of all is that even talking on the phone makes me panic.

Because I have glaucoma I cannot take 90% of the medications prescribed that would help with this malady. I have recently been approved for disability which means I will finally have healthcare and I plan to find a therapist to help me within the next few months.

I would like to hear from other agoraphobics. I never thought this would happen to me. The "fear of the phone" is a new issue with me. Thank heavens for "caller ID".

Thank you in advance for anyone who might want to provide any hints, or maybe a success story or two. I can't believe this has happened to me. I was once a successful travel writer and walked desolate areas of the Southern Hemisphere alone; worked on films in the UK; jumped out of airplanes; and felt more at home in the wilderness than any city in the world.
Now it takes me several hours just to prepare to leave my home.