It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Arachnoiditis Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2012, 06:06 PM   #1
(male)

dyeguy2 HB User
Strange problem after surgery on SI joints

I have been battling lower back pain for almost 8 years. I have had a disc herniate which was successfully repaired. Then after many injections and rhizotomies I had a two level lumbar fusion (L4-L5 and L5 S1) with hardware. The hardware was hitting me in the spine so it was removed. The pain continued so I tried a spinal cord stimulator which didn't work either so I had it removed. A broad assortment of narcotics helped take some of the pain away but much still remained and things gradually got worse.

After a severe bout of pain which went down my left leg (very unusual, the pain is usually confined to my lower back) I had another MRI. My neurosurgeon said that he didn't see anything that would cause this pain or the continuing pain I have had. He said that there is new information that says that the SI joints can be a pain generator in the lower back. The diagnostic injections were great-my pain was completely gone. So I had both side fused with the SI-Bone system. The surgery seemed to go well but now my right foot is very painful and the skin feels like it has been put into boiling water. There is also some tingling and an occasional spike of pain up my calf.

My Dr. said it might be neurogenic pain which narcotics don't help much. I do get some relief from the oxycodone so we decided to add gabapentin which is prescribed for neurogenic pain. It gave only a very slight improvement so I'm left with a very painful foot. There is no pain going down the leg which seems very confusing. Has anyone encountered anything like this?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-06-2012, 06:56 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)