PDA

View Full Version : Does anybody get blood in saliva at night?

Lisalilbee
05-17-2013, 12:58 PM
Hi, I'm new to this, so here goes, I think I have acid reflux, my symptons are , sore throat, difficulty swallowing, a lot of excess saliva/ water brash? Clearing of throat, feeling like I'm going to choke, burping, right shoulder ache? And it all started about 2 months ago, I was short on breath and it was really quite scary, I also fainted, but only for about 10 seconds, but after an excessive night out of smoking and drinking it seem to trigger off the shortness of breath, I went to the hospital had chest X-rays , blood tests, but they said everything was fine, since then I haven't drank or smoked( never smoking again) the shortness of breath got better, but I still have acid reflux symptons, although it took about 10 trips to the doctors, and finally one said it could be acid reflux?
But what worrys me the most is at night when I have been lying down after an hour or so I have blood in my saliva, or its brown, this is not all the time, roughly every other night, the other night it was bright red and frothy, does anybody else get this? Is this a sympton of acid reflux? I am booked in for an endoscopy, and had loads of tests on my lungs to see if anything was wrong but all test was fine, thanks for reading

Jason70
05-22-2013, 08:45 AM
Yes, this has happened to me intermittently for the past 4 or 5 months. It happens a couple hours after I fall asleep when I have a reflux episode. I then wake up and noticed blood in my saliva. My lungs are affected too. Not sure if the blood in the saliva is coming from my mouth, throat or lungs.

Lisalilbee
05-22-2013, 08:51 AM