It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Arm, Wrist & Hand Message Board

Chronic Wrist Pain Help

Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2017, 12:07 AM   #1
tdog2
(male)

tdog2 HB User
Chronic Wrist Pain Help

Hello everyone, I've been having chronic problems with my wrist for about 4 years. I will list all the relevant information and I'm hoping someone might have some helpful insight to my problem.

It all started about 4 years ago. I was a full time carpenter with 5 years experience at 30 y.o. I was doing a lot of wrist intensive work with nail guns and hammering as well as weightlifting and drawing every night after work for around 5 hours. I did fall at work as well around the time that my pain began. It started out as discomfort and ache and steadily progressed to where I could no longer use a nail gun repeatedly within a few months after the pain began. The problem is that I also started to draw every night after work around the same time that my wrist started hurting. But, now that I think about it I had already been drawing regularly for a few years before the pain began so maybe that was not the deciding factor, but maybe the fall was. I tried everything from rest to icing and heat baths as well as wrist exercises to even out any imbalances. So flexor and extensor work in every direction possible. Fast forward a bit and I have struggled on and off with drawing and construction work on the side as much as I can handle with each until my wrist gives in and I have to stop everything completely for a 3 month period with icing until it calms down to normal. I went to a few doctors and tendonitis diagnosis as well as a referral to a more agressive wrist doctor which means surgery, regretfully. Tendinitis is a generic term when there is no clear cause of the problem. I have never felt like I had tendon pain or nerve pain 100% sure!!!! I always felt from the beg