It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Arthritis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2003, 11:06 PM   #1

emb HB User
Question Arthritis symptoms after surgery?

Hello,

This is my first time posting to this board. I am three weeks post-op for cervical fusion surgery due to degenerative disc disease. The neck is improving steadily, however, I am suddenly having trouble with my hands and wrists. My finger joints (the big, middle joints) have become very swollen and pink during the last two weeks. My wrists are also achy and stiff. These are new symptoms for me (I had been experiencing some numbness prior to surgery that is improving). Has anyone here heard of developing arthritis after surgery? Could it be related? I am baffled and don't know what to do for it. I doubt this is pertinent, but my surgeon said that my white blood count was a little low before the surgery. He said I should have it checked again at some point. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I can't believe that I am up in middle of the night because of achy hands and not my neck.

Best,

Em

Old 09-06-2003, 01:22 AM   #2
Inactive

SFangel HB User
Surgery is trauma to the body. You can certainly develop arthritis from surgery; however, I do not know if you have arthritis. The type of arthritis caused by trauma such as surgery, etc. is called Post Traumatic Osteo Arthritis (PTOA).

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-06-2003, 08:32 AM   #3

emb HB User
Thanks so much for the feedback. I'm going to make an appt. with my general practioner to see what she thinks.

Em

Old 09-06-2003, 07:15 PM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)

NancyH HB User