It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Arthritis Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2012, 04:45 AM   #1
(male)

Santana78 HB User
Right Index Finger

I'm experiencing an inability to raise or lift or point my right index finger. No pain or numbness. I'm an artist so this is really beginning to cause me stress; just been hoping it will pass. Anyone know of this?

Old 03-22-2012, 10:11 AM   #2
Inactive
(female)

jennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB User
Re: Right Index Finger

Is the finger curled inward? If not, can you feel any kind of "lumps" up on the back of your hand or wrist?

Tendons can become badly inflamed and cause the fingers to curl in and after a while, there isn't much pain. But this almost sounds like you have ruptured a tendon on the back of your hand that raises the finger...why there is no numbness or pain. But you may be able to feel the torn tendon kind of retracted and in a small lump on the back of your hand or wrist. These are long tendons.

Jenny

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-23-2012, 09:01 AM   #3
(male)

Santana78 HB User

No curling...no pain, or lumps.

Old 03-23-2012, 03:39 PM   #4
Inactive
(female)

jennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB Userjennybyc HB User

Sounds to me like you've torn a tendon...you just can't feel the torn ends of it..probably retracted well up into the hand or wrist.

It won't heal itself. Tendons have a very poor blood supply and have to be stitched back together. And then it can take months to heal. leave it as it is and the finger will forever stay that way...the faster you have it fixed, the better off you'll be.

You need to find a hand surgeon...an orthopedic surgeon who specializes in hand injuries.

Jenny

Old 03-23-2012, 04:26 PM   #5
(male)

Santana78 HB User