It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Arthritis Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2012, 07:04 AM   #1
(female)

ksk1 HB User
Question Psoriatic Arthritis- Methotrexade's effectiveness?

Hi,
I'm totally new to this, registered today!...

I'm 18years old and was diagnosed around 5 weeks ago with Psoriatic Arthritis..
I'm just wondering how others with this condition are coping, and if they are taking the same medication?

I take Methotrexade, it's early days but my symptoms are just as painful and restricting as they were before starting the medication Has this medication been a great help to any of you?(:

This has come as a huge shock to me, being so young with no record of arthritis in my family, any support/advice would be much appreciated

x x x

The following user gives a hug of support to ksk1:
ShadNuke (05-24-2012)
Old 05-21-2012, 02:54 PM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

Moldova HB UserMoldova HB UserMoldova HB UserMoldova HB UserMoldova HB UserMoldova HB UserMoldova HB UserMoldova HB UserMoldova HB UserMoldova HB UserMoldova HB User
Re: Psoriatic Arthritis- Methotrexade's effectiveness?

Hello KSK and welcome on board!
You are at the right place, we are here to help each other and share our experiences.
While I have RA, PA is something I am familiar with due to my own research and reading posts on board from people suffering with it.
unfortunately auto-immune diseases don't have age and don't have to run in a family.
I am very sorry you are so young, but I was diagnosed with JRA at age 11, and when came to the office of my RA DR, I saw babies in a carriages with RA... so as you can see these type conditions don't discriminate... :-)

Usually the use MTX as the first drug, mild one too, for RA and PA. They start with it and if it working - good for you, you don't have to go on biologics or something even stronger and more severe.