It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Arthritis Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2012, 09:39 AM   #1
(male)

RheoBlair HB User
Depomedrol Injection

I have tennis elbow and sustained a tendon inury from training heavy. I was injected with a 80 mg depomedrol shot 8 weeks ago and came back for a second three weeks ago. I had injured my tendon and the inflammation has been around for a year because mainly I tried to solve it with sea mussel and other products which reduced inflammation. I have only been injured twice in the 40 years I trained, which the sports medicine doctor said was great. It is healing well.

The questions are how long do these depomedrol shots last because some say 28 days and other say six weeks, so it is confusing. Also should I stop training to allow a full recovery. I found it is better if I do this because I started training after three weeks, which slowed down the healing and actually may have aggravated the tendon. I got the second shot three weeks and found it seems to heal better if I dont train

Last edited by RheoBlair; 09-20-2012 at 09:44 AM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-20-2012, 09:58 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

ladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB User
Re: Depomedrol Injection

Since everyone responds differently and the amount of inflammation differs 4-6 weeks duration is the average time the injection lasts, and the effect can last longer if you avoid the activity that causes the inflammation. So I would hold off on training, and when you restart do your training with a tennis elbow strap on, the kind with a "bubble" to prevent movement and renewed inflammation of the tendon.

Last edited by ladybud; 09-20-2012 at 09:59 AM. Reason: correction

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-20-2012, 10:08 AM   #3
(male)