It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Arthritis Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2013, 07:24 PM   #1
(female)

Tennis mom HB User
Diagnostic frustration

Hello all, newbie here!

I have had weird symptoms much of my adult life, tingling, dizziness, carpal tunnel like symptoms, costochondritis multiple times, IBS, bladder issues (urgency, spasms, burning upon urination), muscle weakness, burning pain, muscle twitches, low grade fevers, severe loss of appetite, flashes in my eyes, joint pain, and recently dry eyes, mouth, and skin. I have had periods of relative health and periods of severe disability.

All of my bloodwork is negative/normal (MRI with contrast, ANA panel, RF, SSA, SSB, CRP, ESR, and tons of other anti-body tests like scleroderma, myasthenia gravis, etc.).

My rheumy diagnosed me tentatively with Sjogrens based only on symptoms. I wasn't taking any drugs that could have caused my dryness. He told me a lip biopsy was not needed. He thinks I might also have RA but no tests confirm it.

I have been on Plaquenil and prednisone for a year, which wasn't really helping so we added methotrexate. He stopped that due to my hair loss this week. Now I am on arava and having a big flare of joint pain. My hands are red and knuckles are swollen. Every joint hurts except my hips. I am having no other symptoms though just the joint pain.

I am getting depressed because I have been trying for a whole year to get something that works. I feel like I am no good to anybody, my family, my friends, just a worthless, useless sick person. So frustrating!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-29-2013, 11:53 AM   #2
(female)

margarita889 HB Usermargarita889 HB Usermargarita889 HB Usermargarita889 HB Usermargarita889 HB Usermargarita889 HB User
Smile Re: Diagnostic frustration

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tennis mom View Post
Hello all, newbie here!