It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Asperger's Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2006, 04:52 PM   #1
(female)

katt5220jo HB User
Insurance wont cover testing for aspergers, suggestions?

Hello everyone, I am new to this all. I have read over some of your posts and found a lot of info.
My daughter is 6 yrs old and she is being sent to Rileys Childrens hospital for testing of aspergers. I had no idea she had something like this. She has always had her quirks, she has always been emotional. I decided last year to keep her out of kindergarten because of the way she is. I had considered homeschooling. Now a friend who teaches sp/ed suggested I have her tested for aspergers. My ped referred us to the hospital. I have spent weeks now doing so much research, it is a lot to take in all at once.

Now I find out that my insurance doesn't cover any autism at all. We have a law here that insurance must cover it unless the employer self insures it's employees.
So what I am asking is do you have any suggestions on where to turn? I am in the US and I have no idea where to turn first.

I look forward sharing my journey with you all.
thanks,
Katt

Old 02-12-2006, 05:40 PM   #2
(female)

boysboysboys HB User
Re: Insurance wont cover testing for aspergers, suggestions?

Hi,
What state are you in? The procedures and services vary greatly from one state to another. I did a search on the hospital you mentioned and am guessing that you live in Indiana.
Where I live, Wisconsin, the school system is responsible for providing therapy for children who need it and are over age 3. I think this is true for home schooled kids too. Once you have a diagnosis you can apply for Medicaid for your child. If you are able to get Medicaid, they will pay for services that aren't covered by your insurance.