It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Asperger's Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2006, 07:15 PM   #1
(female)

1boy4me HB User
Aspergers and obsessiveness?

Hi. I am a newbie! I have an almost 10 year old son with Aspergers.

He is having trouble with obsessions.

Ever since he was small, he has had obsessions. His first one was dogs. He was obsessed with any and all things that had to do with dogs.

He is currently going through a Yu Gi Oh obsession, and it is affecting him immensely. He is having temper tantrums over the cards (he has a bunch of them that are put up due to behavioral problems both at home and at school) and it is hard for him to try to deal with the whole thing.

I realize that some children with Aspergers get obsessed with things easily. And my son is one of those children.

Does anybody have any tips or hints on how to deal with the obsessions? I have looked all over online, and cannot find any help. The only information that I can find is that people with Aspergers have a high tendency to get obsessed with things (well, DUH!!).

Thanks in advance!

Old 10-16-2006, 08:34 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

9CatMom HB User
Re: Aspergers and obsessiveness?

I have always had one obsession or another. My first obsession was horses. I have also had obsessions with learning about certain parts of the world. (Japan, Spain, Greece, Ukraine, and England are a sampling of the places I have learned about in depth.) I also like the Olympic Games and, as my Internet name shows, cats. I have always been a cat lover. My favorite breeds are the Siamese, Oriental Shorthair, and tabby.