It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Asperger's Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2010, 07:20 AM   #1
(female)

jade jackson HB User
My beautiful 8 yr old boy-aspergers? (long post..grab a coffee)

Hi im a newbie
im really glad i found this site. I feel that my beautiful 8 year old boy has Asperger, through "maternal instinct" and lots of research
I have been separated from his dad for almost 2 years now..at the beginning it seemed like it might have been a reaction of our separation but i now realise the behaviour and symptoms have been there long before
My boy has funny mannerisms, flaps his arms like his flying. he smiles inappropriately, making funny face gestures. He is a very clever boy. very artistic..loves to draw and read and beautiful handwriting yet,.he doesnt get the flow of a conversation at all. It worries me.because he is actually very clever so why cant he connect conversations in his head??.He forgets very easily and gets frustrated very quickly. He snaps at his sister and overeacts at the smallest things. Is very sad, like he doesnt belong at school but tries so hard to fit in, yet he says inappropriate things and can be hurtful but hasnt understood why another person would be feeling sad. He doesnt "understand" emotion. He occasionally has this overwhelming need to obsess on a topic and just doesnt let go.He is also very sensitive to noise sometimes and the more people in a room talking together, its like he charges up like electricity and goes hyper. Sweet/coloured foods send him right off. Senstive to light.